2015 Frierson-Colling Professionalism Award

The Florida Bar Workers’ Compensation Section holds an educational program each April. It used to be called the Board Certification Review course. In the early part of the Twenty-first Century, the Section began partnering with the Workers’ Compensation Claims Professionals (WCCP) to produce the program with relevant thoughts for both the attorney and adjuster populations.

In 2008, the Section began presenting a professionalism award. There had previously been a professionalism award presented by the Florida Workers’ Compensation Institute, named for Bud Adams. Over time, that award was no longer presented. The Section saw a need for such recognition and named their new award after Albert Frierson of Ft. Myers. The inaugural award was present to Mr. Frierson at the 2008 Florida Workers’ Compensation Institute in Orlando.

The next year the award was made to Stewart Colling, posthumously. And in 2010, under the leadership of Section Chair Richard Chait, the award was renamed the Frierson-Colling Professionalism Award. The “The award is presented annually to an attorney that the Section believes represents the highest professional and ethical standards.”

At the 2015 Forum in Orlando, the Section presented the award to Richard Chait of Miami. Richard practices with Touby, Chait & Sicking, P.L. He specializes in the representation of injured workers. He is a graduate of the University of Florida and the University of Miami School of Law.

Richard Chait is a past Chair of the section and a past president of the Florida Workers' Advocates (FWA). Richard currently serves as Chair of the workers’ compensation section of the Florida Justice Association. He has been involved in workers’ compensation as an advocate, as a leader, and through both regulatory and legislative efforts. He has been recognized repeatedly for his leadership.

Prior recipients of the Frierson-Colling Professionalism Award are

2008 - Albert M. Frierson
2009 - Stewart Colling (posthumously)
2010 - Richard Sicking
2011 - John Jacob Schickel
2012 - Herbert Langston
2013 - Ramon Malca
2014 - Richard Thompson


The Florida Bar

Follow us on

Copyright © 2020 The Florida Bar, Workers Compensation Section. All Rights Reserved | Site Design By Computer Repair and Website Design by On Call